ECE Curriculum Committee Meeting Minutes for December 2, 2011

Members AY 2011-12: Stephen Levinson (chair), Jont Allen, Tangul Basar, Stephen Boppart, Andreas Cangellaris (ex-officio), Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia, Matthew Gilbert, Yih-Chun Hu, Seth Hutchinson, Erhan Kudeki (ex-officio), Jean-Pierre Leburton, Xiuling Li, Steven Lumetta, Jonathan Makela, Sayan Mitra, Michael Oelze, Constantine Polychronopoulos, Paris Smaragdis, John Tucker, Nitin Vaidya, Martin Wong

Attendees: Levinson, Allen, Basar, Dominguez-Garcia, Kudeki, Lumetta, Oelze, Vaidya

The meeting was called to order at 10:05 AM.

The minutes of Nov. 18 were approved.

E. Kudeki reopened the discussion of revisions to the curriculum associated with scientific computing. He urged the committee to adopt a resolution for a required component of both the EE and CompE curricula in scientific computing. This requirement could be met in several different ways depending on student abilities and preferences. The requirement could be distributed over several courses and could be offered by modifying the ECE190 - 290 sequence, the ECE110 - 210 sequence and CS101. Due to the low attendance the committee did not vote on the proposed resolution.

The chair recommended that the scientific computing courses begin as early as possible in the curriculum and that it be considered as a fundamental study in the same way as mathematics and physics are. In order to adopt such a resolution many specific technical issues will have to be agreed upon. At present there is considerable divergence of opinion on these matters.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:45 AM. Many members of the committee left at 11 AM but several members continued the discussion until 11:45.

These minutes drafted by S. E. Levinson, Dec. 2, 2011.