ECE Curriculum Committee Meeting Minutes for November 4, 2011

Members AY 2011-12: Stephen Levinson (chair), Jont Allen, Tangul Basar, Stephen Bopart, Andreas Cangellaris (ex-officio), Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia, Matthew Gilbert, Yih-Chun Hu, Seth Hutchinson, Erhan Kudeki (ex-officio), Jean-Pierre Leburton, Xiuling Li, Steven Lumetta, Jonathan Makela, Sayan Mitra, Michael Oelze, Constantine Polychronopoulos, Paris Smaragdis, John Tucker, Nitin Vaidya, Martin Wong

Attendees: Levinson, Allen, Basar, Dominguez-Garcia, Hu, Hutchinson, Kudeki, Li, Lumetta, Makela, Mitra, Oelze, Vaidya

The meeting was called to order at 10:05 AM.

The minutes of October 28 were approved with minor revisions.

The committee continued the discussion of revising ECE110 and 190 as a result of several e-mails that circulated among ECE110 staff during the week. Many different opinions were expressed but did not constitute a coherent solution to the problem.

Two important action items were adopted. First, Vaidya will draft a syllabus for an experimental course as an alternative to the current ECE110. This syllabus will be refined by this committee and the course will be given to a small class (~30) in Fall 2013. Second, the chair will provide a complete description of CS101 including syllabus, exams, and MPs and present it to the committee next week. This is to determine whether or not the present CS101 could serve as our requirement for scientific computing. The chair will also provide an alternative to CS101 that could be worked into Vaidya's version of ECE110 in place of the 8 lectures associated with the "research activity".

The meeting was adjourned at 11:01 AM

These minutes drafted by S. E. Levinson, Nov. 4, 2011.