## ECE Curriculum Committee Meeting Minutes for Sept. 26, 2012

Members AY 2011-12: Stephen Levinson (chair), Juliy Baryshnikov, Tangul Basar, Andreas Cangellaris (ex-officio), Ann Catrina Coleman, Brian Cunningham, John Dallesasse, Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia, Yih-Chun Hu, Seth Hutchinson, Erhan Kudeki (ex-officio), Gang Liu, Steven Lumetta, Jonathan Makela, Sayan Mitra, Michael Oelze, Gabriel Popescu, Maxim Raginsky, Paris Smaragdis, Rayadurgam Srikant, Nitin Vaidya, Daniel Wasserman

## **Attendees:**

Levinson, Kudeki, Makela, Dominguez-Garcia, Basar, Baryshnikov, Lumetta, Hu, Hutchinson, Cunningham, Dallesasse, Wasserman, Raginsky, Mitra, Srikant

The meeting was called to order at 2:05 PM.

Minutes of Sept. 19 were approved.

The ECE498 course proposal by Weng Chew is withdrawn pending revision.

Doug Jones will provide a revised syllabus for ECE401 at the next meeting.

The committee meeting of Oct. 3 is canceled for the Allerton conference.

The new CS233 course will have some effect on ECE290 and ECE391. Credit for this course will not be given to ECE students. It can count as a free elective only for those ECE students who have already taken it. Some ECE students may need the material for 400 level CS courses and will have to get it from self study. Paris Smaragdis will be asked to attend the CS curriculum committee meetings to further report on CS course developments and their implications for ECE students.

Course proposals for ECE198KL and ECE199JL were approved. These courses will eventually replace ECE190, ECE290, and ECE385. In order to do so they may be revised but they are approved as experimental courses. ECE students who opt out of ECE198KL will be required to take the current version of ECE190.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:55 PM.

These minutes drafted by S. E. Levinson, Oct. 2, 2012, revised Oct. 16, 2012.