## **ECE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE**

TO: Tangul Basar, Donna Brown, Andreas Cangellaris, Minh Do, Seth Hutchinson, Wen-Mei Hwu,

Steve Levinson, Daniel Liberzon, Tom Overbye, Sanjay Patel, Narayana Rao, Naresh Shanbhag,

Gregory Timp, Nitin Vaidya, Pramod Viswanath, Bruce Wheeler

FROM: Erhan Kudeki

SUBJECT: Curriculum committee meeting minutes

DATE: May 2, 2005

## Minutes of the Curriculum Committee Meeting April 25, 2005

- Members present: Tangul Basar, Donna Brown, Andreas Cangellaris, Minh Do, Seth Hutchinson, Wen-Mei Hwu, Steve Levinson, Daniel Liberzon, Tom Overbye, Sanjay Patel, Narayana Rao, Naresh Shanbhag, Gregory Timp
- 2) Minutes of April 11, 2005 meeting were approved.
- Doug Jones and K. C. Hsieh were present in the meeting which once again focused on ECE 440 and possible revisions and/or status chaange for the course. Greg Timp presented a "consensus proposal" from the Physical Electronics area: The proposal is for a junior year course, referred to as ECE 340, which would replace ECE 440 as a required course and as an entry level course to more advanced courses in physical electronics area. The proposed course covers (in roughly equal parts) (i) basic semiconductor physics, (ii) devices, and (iii) circuit applications. Some devices such as bipolar transistors are not covered. A counter proposal came from Naresh Shanbhag, with slightly less emphasis on (i) and (ii) but expanded emphasis on (iii), including op-amps and feedback. A suggestion was made to create a four hour course including the main elements of both proposals. However, the consensus was for trying to find a "three hour solution" consisting of selective elements from the two proposals. Timp and Shanbhag agreed to examine the feasibility of organizing such a course.

Discussions will continue in the next meeting planned for Monday, May 2, 2005, 4:30 PM. It is expected that K. C. Hsieh and D. Jones will also attend the next meeting.